BestLEDGrowLights

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Epistar vs Bridgelux: Budget Diodes Compared

Short answer: Epistar and Bridgelux are LED chip makers whose names appear on grow light listings, most often in lower-cost fixtures. A chip name is one stated detail: it names the maker of the diodes, not a performance promise. This site compares stated details only, so a listing that names Epistar or Bridgelux tells you the chip maker, not its efficiency or durability. Read the maker's manual and page for those terms.

What Epistar and Bridgelux mean on a listing

Epistar and Bridgelux are names of LED chip makers. On a grow light listing, the chip maker appears as a stated detail, usually in the title or the first bullet lines: "Epistar diodes" or "Bridgelux chips" are common wordings.

Both names show up most often in the lower-cost part of the catalogue. A budget fixture that names its chip maker tells you which component is inside, the same way a listing states watts, coverage area, dimming and a timer. For a fuller look at what a listing states, see how to read a grow light listing.

A chip name is a selling word, not a measured claim. It says who made the LEDs, and nothing about how the light performs.

Diodes versus chips as listing words

A diode is the light-emitting part of an LED. A chip is the small package that carries one or more diodes. Many listings use the two words loosely, so "Epistar diodes" and "Bridgelux chips" usually mean the same thing: the fixture uses LEDs made by that maker.

Listings may also name a chip series, such as a Bridgelux model code or an Epistar series. A series name is a more specific stated detail, but it still does not tell you the light output of the fixture.

The maker's manual and the maker's page for the model state the numbers that belong to the whole light, such as power draw and coverage area. The chip name alone is not a spec sheet, which is why the site reads the stated details rather than a chip family name.

What a chip name can and cannot tell you

A chip name can tell you one thing: who made the LEDs. That is useful when you want a known component in a budget fixture, because a named chip is easier to look up than an unnamed one.

A chip name cannot tell you how much light the fixture delivers, how wide an area it covers, whether it is dimmable, or whether it has a timer. Those details are stated separately on the listing.

Efficiency and durability are properties of the whole fixture: the driver, the layout, the number of diodes and the housing all matter. This site compares stated details only, and it does not rank one chip maker over another on efficiency or durability. What efficacy means is a separate listing term, and it is never stated in this catalogue.

Efficiency and durability as listing terms

Efficiency in grow lighting is a term for how much useful light a fixture produces for the power it draws. Durability is a term for how long a fixture can run before parts wear out. Both are measured properties of a completed light, not of a chip name alone.

On a listing, a seller may use words like "efficient" or "long life" without a number. This site does not read those words as figures: the catalogue has no stated efficiency, lifespan, PPFD, PAR, DLI or photon output for any model.

To read efficiency and durability for a specific light, open the maker's page for the model and the manual that comes in the box. The maker is the source for those numbers, and the manual's care instructions come first. For a question about how long a light lasts, warranty and lifespan is the guide that explains the term.

Why entry-level fixtures name their diodes

Many entry-level grow lights name their chip maker because a known name makes a fixture easier to compare. Epistar and Bridgelux are two chip names a shopper finds in that tier. The grow light guides compare lights on stated details, not on chip names alone. For a fuller look at what a listing states, see how to read a grow light listing.

Naming the chip is one way a listing describes what is inside. The same listing still carries the details that matter for a buying decision: the light type, the watts of one light, the coverage area in square feet, and the controls such as a dimmer or a timer.

When a listing does not name a chip maker, the missing detail simply is not stated. The site reads only what the listing states, so an unnamed chip maker is not a reason to prefer or avoid a light.

How to compare listings with different chip names

When two listings name different chip makers, such as one with Epistar and one with Bridgelux, compare the stated details side by side: watts of one light, coverage area, light type, dimmable, timer, and the maker's wording for mounting and controls.

The chip name is a stated detail, but it is not a performance promise. This site compares listings on stated details only, and it never claims that one chip maker grows plants faster or yields more. The driver quality and the number of diodes affect a light more than the chip family name alone.

For a budget shopping decision, the light type that fits your job matters more than the chip name. Use the grow light guides and read the maker's page for the model to see the full spec sheet.

What to read alongside a chip name

Alongside a chip name, read the watts of one light, the coverage area, and the controls on the listing. Those are the details the site compares in its guides, and they answer the question of what a fixture will do in your space.

The maker's manual states mounting, care and cleaning, and it is the place to read any number the listing does not show. Follow the maker's manual and local electrical rules for mounting and power.

For energy-efficiency programs, the DesignLights Consortium maintains a qualified products list for horticultural lighting. That official page is a place to check what a lighting program verifies, separate from what a listing states.

What to pick for your job

If youPickBuying guide
You light a shelf of houseplants on a budgetA strip or panel light with named diodesBest LED Grow Light Strips in 2026: 14 Picks by Stated Details
You start seeds on a rack or shelvesLinkable strips in a packBest LED Grow Light Strips in 2026: 14 Picks by Stated Details
You light a small grow tent (2x2 or 3x3)A quantum board or panelBest Quantum Board Grow Lights in 2026: 5 Picks by Stated Details
You light a 4x4 grow tentA higher-wattage bar or panelBest 200W LED Grow Lights in 2026: 10 Picks by Stated Details
You stay under a budget tierA budget-tier pickBest LED Grow Lights (2026): LED Grow Light Reviews

Questions

What does "Epistar diodes" mean on a grow light listing?

It names the maker of the LED chips in the fixture. Epistar is one of several chip makers whose names appear on grow light listings, most often in entry-level fixtures. The chip name is a stated detail, not a performance promise.

Is Bridgelux better than Epistar for grow lights?

This site compares stated details only, and it does not rank chip makers against each other on efficiency or durability. A chip name alone does not tell you how a light performs. Compare the watts, coverage area and controls of the two listings, and read the maker's page for each model.

Where can I read the efficiency of a light with Epistar or Bridgelux chips?

The maker's manual and the maker's page for the model state the numbers for a completed light, such as power draw and coverage. The catalogue that this site reads does not state efficiency, PPFD, PAR, DLI or lifespan for any model.

Are Epistar and Bridgelux only in entry-level grow lights?

Both names appear most often in the entry-level part of the catalogue, but a chip name is just one stated detail. The guides compare lights on stated details, not on chip names alone.

What else should I check on a listing that names a chip maker?

Check the watts of one light, the coverage area in square feet, the light type (quantum board, bar, panel, strip or bulb), and the controls such as a dimmer or timer. Those are the details this site compares.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides