How to Read an LED Grow Light Spec Sheet
Short answer: An LED grow light spec sheet lists the light's type, wattage, coverage area, LED chips, controls, and mounting details. To read it, focus on the actual watt draw of one light, the coverage area in square feet, the dimming and timer features, and the LED chip maker. These details tell you if the light fits your space and how you'll control it. For light intensity or spectrum quality, the maker's manual and product page are where to look, as those numbers are not always on the listing.
Start with the listing title
The first words of a grow light listing title usually name the light type: quantum board, bar light, panel, strip, clip-on, or bulb. This tells you the form factor and how it mounts. For example, a title that says "quantum board" points to a flat, rectangular fixture that hangs from a tent frame, while "strip" suggests a flexible or rigid bar that can be linked with others.
The title also often includes the wattage of one light, such as "100W" or "2 x 9W" for a pack. Read this as the actual draw of one unit, not an equivalent figure. If the title says "2 x 9W," that means each light draws 9 watts, and the pack has two lights. This site reads only the stated draw of one light, never an equivalent wattage.
Model names in the title, like "Spider Farmer SF-1000" or "VIVOSUN VS1000," are the maker's identifiers. They help you find the exact product page and manual. Feature words like "dimmable" or "with timer" are also in the title, so you can spot controls at a glance.
Watts and coverage area
Watts on a spec sheet tell you the power draw of the light, which is a starting point for matching a light to a space. A higher wattage often pairs with a larger coverage area, but the coverage area is the more direct number for your buying decision. Look for a coverage figure in square feet, such as "2x2 ft" or "4x4 ft." This tells you the footprint the maker states for the light.
Coverage area is not the same as light intensity. A light may state a coverage of 4x4 feet, but the actual light distribution depends on the fixture's design and hanging height. The maker's manual and product page are where you read the recommended mounting height and the PAR map, which shows how light spreads across the area.
When a title names several tent sizes, like "fits 2x2/3x3 tents," it means the maker states the light works in those spaces. For a larger tent, you may need two lights. The buying guides on this site compare lights by stated coverage and wattage to help you match a light to your tent size, such as the best LED grow lights for 4x4 tents.
LED chips and light type
The spec sheet often names the LED chip maker, such as Samsung, Osram, Bridgelux, or Cree. A chip name like "Samsung LM301B" tells you the diode type, which is a detail about the light's construction. This site reads chip names as stated, but the chip name alone does not tell you the light's performance. The maker's page is where you find any efficiency or spectrum data. For lights with Samsung chips, see the best Samsung LED grow lights guide.
Light type also appears in the specs: quantum board, bar, panel, strip, or bulb. Each type suits a different job. A quantum board is a single flat panel, good for a tent. Bar lights have multiple bars, which can spread light over a wider area. Strips are linkable and fit shelves. Clip-on lights attach to a desk or shelf edge. Bulbs screw into a standard lamp socket.
The spec sheet may list "full spectrum" or "red and blue LEDs." These are listing terms that describe the light's output in general words. The exact spectrum, such as Kelvin values or specific wavelengths, is on the maker's page. This site does not read spectrum charts, so rely on the maker's stated details for that.
Controls: dimming and timers
Spec sheets list controls as features. "Dimmable" means you can adjust the light output, often with a knob, a remote, or an app. A built-in timer lets you set on and off cycles, with options like "4/8/12H" or "3/9/12H" cycles. These are listing words that describe the timer's presets. For a selection of models with these features, see the best dimmable LED grow lights and best grow lights with timer guides.
Some lights offer app control or remote control, which adds convenience but also means you may need to set up an app or pair a remote. The spec sheet tells you what is included in the box, such as a remote or a power cord. If a feature is not listed, it is not stated by the seller.
For a seed starting shelf or a desk plant, a simple timer may be enough. For a grow tent, a dimmer lets you adjust light for different plant stages. The buying guides on this site compare lights by their stated controls, so you can pick one that matches how you want to manage your setup.
Mounting and what's in the box
The spec sheet lists mounting details: hangers, clips, stands, or magnetic strips. A hanging light comes with cables and a driver, while a clip-on light has a clamp. A stand or tripod is a separate base. These details tell you how to set up the light in your space. For clip-on models, see the best clip on grow lights guide; for strips, see the best LED grow light strips guide.
The box contents list is part of the spec sheet. It names the light, power cord, hangers, and any remote or manual. Check this list on delivery to make sure everything is included. The maker's manual is the authority on mounting, so follow its instructions for your safety and the light's proper use.
For a windowsill herb garden, a clip-on or a bulb in a lamp socket works. For a seed starting rack, linkable strips mount under shelves. For a grow tent, a hanging light with cables is standard. The buying guides match lights to these jobs, so you can see which type fits your space.
What the spec sheet cannot tell you
A spec sheet does not usually state light intensity in terms you can act on, such as PPFD or DLI. These are terms that describe how much light reaches the plant, but the numbers are on the maker's manual or product page, not always on the listing. This site does not read those figures, so you should look them up on the maker's page if you need them.
The spec sheet also does not tell you about heat, noise, or lifespan. Those are not stated in the listing, and this site does not claim them. The maker's manual may include care instructions, such as dusting and storing the light, which you should follow.
For any electrical or mounting question, the maker's manual and local electrical rules come first. This article does not cover wiring or installation beyond what the listing states. If a spec is missing, it is not stated by the seller, and you can contact the maker for more details.
What to pick for your job
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You light a seed starting shelf | A pack of linkable strips | Best LED Grow Light Strips in 2026: 14 Picks by Stated Details |
| You have a 2x2 or 3x3 grow tent | A quantum board with a dimmer | Best Quantum Board Grow Lights in 2026: 5 Picks by Stated Details |
| You need a light for a 4x4 tent | A bar light with a timer | Best LED Grow Light Bars in 2026: 9 Picks by Stated Details |
| You want a light for a desk plant | A clip-on or bulb light | Best Clip On Grow Lights in 2026: 4 Picks by Stated Details |
| You are on a budget | A budget-tier light with stated coverage | Best LED Grow Lights Under $100 in 2026: 15 Picks by Stated Details |
Questions
What does wattage on a grow light spec sheet mean?
Wattage is the power draw of one light, as stated by the seller. It is a starting point for matching a light to a space, but the coverage area in square feet is more direct for your buying decision.
How do I read the coverage area on a spec sheet?
Look for a figure in square feet, such as '2x2 ft' or '4x4 ft.' This is the footprint the maker states for the light. For a larger tent, you may need two lights.
What is a quantum board on a spec sheet?
A quantum board is a flat, rectangular LED fixture that hangs from a tent frame. It is a light type, and the spec sheet lists it in the title or features.
Where do I find light intensity numbers like PPFD?
PPFD and DLI are terms that describe light intensity, but the numbers are on the maker's manual or product page, not always on the listing. This site does not read those figures.
What does 'dimmable' mean on a grow light?
Dimmable means you can adjust the light output, often with a knob, remote, or app. The spec sheet lists the control type, such as a dimmer knob or app control.
How do I know what is included in the box?
The spec sheet includes a box contents list, naming the light, power cord, hangers, and any remote or manual. Check this list on delivery to make sure everything is included.
Recent updates
- : First published.