BestLEDGrowLights

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

What Is Efficacy (umol/J) and How Much Is Enough

Short answer: Efficacy (umol/J) is the stated measure of how many photons of photosynthetically active light an LED grow light delivers for each joule of electricity it draws. It appears in the spec section of a listing and on the maker's product page and manual. A higher figure means more photons per joule, but it does not tell total output or coverage. Read the stated details of each listing you shortlist, then read the maker's page for the efficacy figure.

What efficacy (umol/J) means

Efficacy on a grow light listing is a measure of how efficiently an LED turns electricity into light a plant can use. The full term is photosynthetic photon efficacy, and the unit reads as micromoles per joule, or umol/J. A micromole is a count of particles called photons, and a joule is a unit of electrical energy. The figure links the photons the light delivers to the electricity it draws, so it is an efficiency statement, not a total output statement.

Plants use light for photosynthesis, the process by which they convert light, carbon dioxide, and water into energy. A grow light's job is to supply that light, and efficacy describes how efficiently the light does it. The UMN Extension page explains that plants need sufficient light to grow, bloom, and produce seed, which is why a buyer compares how much usable light a model delivers for the electricity it draws.

The word efficacy appears in the bullet list or the specification section of a listing. It is one of the stated details a buyer can compare, like watts, coverage area, or a timer. The number itself belongs to a model, so the model code on the listing should match the code on the light's label and on the maker's page for that model.

Where to find it on a listing

A title usually names the light type, the wattage of one light, and a coverage area. Efficacy is rarely in the title. It sits in the bullet list or the spec table under a line such as efficacy or the unit umol/J.

When a listing omits the line, the detail is simply not stated by the seller. The maker's product page for the model and the printed manual state the figure. The UMN Extension page on lighting for indoor plants is a general reference for how plants respond to light levels; the maker's documentation is where a model's exact numbers are read.

Some listings sell one light or several in a pack; efficacy in those listings is stated per light, so read the line for a single unit before comparing two packs.

What a higher figure can and cannot tell you

On two lights with the same wattage, a higher efficacy figure means more photons per joule, so the light is more efficient in that one measure. That comparison only works when the two listings state the same unit in the same way. A buyer who compares a panel and a bar light on efficacy alone is missing the rest of the spec sheet.

Efficacy does not tell total output. A separate term, umol/s, counts the photons a light releases per second. A small light with a high efficacy number still releases fewer photons than a large light with a lower number. Efficacy also says nothing about coverage area, spectrum, dimming, or a built-in timer; for the difference between light quality terms, see PPFD versus PAR.

How much is enough for your job

The answer has no single figure. A seed starting shelf, a rack of houseplants, and a 4x4 tent are different jobs, and each matches a different light type and coverage area. What is enough for one space is not enough for another, so the efficient path is to shortlist lights by job, compare their stated details, and then read the efficacy figure on the maker's page for each model.

The maker states the efficacy figure in the product documentation for each model. A buyer can compare that number across models of the same light type, such as two panels or two bar lights, and match the light to the coverage area named on the listing. The buying guides on this site sort the catalogue by stated details, so a guide for a 4x4 tent or a guide for a seed starting shelf is a good starting point.

Compare efficacy with the other stated details

Efficacy is one line in a spec sheet. A light also has stated watts for one light, coverage area in square feet, chip maker, dimming, and timer. A very efficient strip might suit a shelf, while a 4x4 tent needs a larger light whose coverage area matches the tent.

When two listings differ, compare each stated detail in turn: light type, watts, coverage, controls. The guides under the best- sections, such as quantum board grow lights and LED grow light panels, present the pool sorted by those details, and the maker's page adds the efficacy figure a buyer needs to complete the comparison.

A short checklist before you buy

A short checklist helps: find the model code, read the watts of one light, read the coverage area, check for dimming and a timer, then open the maker's page for the efficacy figure. If a listing omits a detail, that detail is not stated by the seller; the maker's manual and page for the model are where to read it.

Asking the maker is also an option. The maker's page lists contact information, and a buyer can confirm a figure before purchase.

A buyer who keeps the model code and the manual after purchase has the stated figures for future comparison. When a light is added to an existing setup, the same checklist applies to the second light.

Why this site reads stated details

This site builds its pool from the stated details on the listings, such as light type, watts, coverage area, dimmable, and timer. It does not read efficacy, PPFD, PPF, or DLI numbers. Those figures belong on the maker's page and manual, where the model's exact numbers are stated.

The DesignLights Consortium maintains a Qualified Products List for horticultural lighting that verifies performance and efficiency claims. A buyer can consult lists like that alongside the stated details on a listing before choosing.

What to pick for your job

If youPickBuying guide
You light a seed starting shelfA pack of linkable LED strips with stated watts per stripBest LED Grow Light Strips in 2026: 14 Picks by Stated Details
You outfit a 4x4 grow tentA higher-power bar or quantum board light with stated coverage for the tentBest LED Grow Lights for 4x4 Tents in 2026: 7 Picks
You prefer a quantum board lightA quantum board with stated watts and coverageBest Quantum Board Grow Lights in 2026: 5 Picks by Stated Details
You shop for a first grow light for houseplantsA panel or clip-on light that matches the shelf sizeBest LED Grow Lights (2026): LED Grow Light Reviews
You want dimming and a timer on the lightA dimmable light with a built-in timerBest Dimmable LED Grow Lights in 2026: 15 Picks
You look for a higher-power light for a large tentA higher-power light with stated coverageBest 200W LED Grow Lights in 2026: 10 Picks by Stated Details

Questions

What does efficacy (umol/J) mean on a grow light listing?

It is the stated measure of how many photons of photosynthetically active light an LED delivers for each joule of electricity it draws. It appears in the spec section of a listing and on the maker's page for the model. Compare it with the watts and coverage area stated in the same listing.

Where can I read the efficacy figure for a model?

Read the bullet list and spec section of the listing first, then the maker's product page and the printed manual for the model. The model code on the light's label should match the listing so the figure belongs to that light.

Does a higher efficacy number mean a better light for my tent?

A higher number means more photons per joule in that one measure, but it does not tell total output or coverage. Match efficacy with the stated watts and coverage area, and read the maker's page for the model.

How is efficacy different from umol/s output?

Efficacy is photons per joule, a measure of efficiency. Umol/s is the count of photons released per second, a measure of total output. Both terms are defined in an explainer on umol/s output, and the exact numbers are on the maker's page.

What if a listing does not state efficacy?

The detail is simply not stated by the seller. Read the maker's page and manual for the model, and compare the lights you shortlist on the stated details that are present.

Can I compare two lights on efficacy alone?

No. Efficacy is one line in a spec sheet; light type, watts, coverage, dimming, and timer matter too. Compare the full set of stated details across the two listings.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides