BestLEDGrowLights

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Samsung Diodes vs Other Brands: What Difference Does It Make

Short answer: The chip brand on a grow light listing names the maker of the LED diodes inside: Samsung LM301B or LM301H, Osram, Bridgelux, Cree or Epistar. It is a stated detail like watts or dimmable, and it does not by itself state performance. Efficacy, longevity and spectrum consistency figures belong on the maker's page and manual for the model. This site compares lights on stated details, so the chip name is read as a title word, not as a promise.

Chip names on a grow light listing title

A grow light listing title often opens with a chip maker's name: Samsung, Osram, Bridgelux, Cree or Epistar, sometimes followed by a diode model such as LM301B or LM301H. That name is a stated detail, exactly like the wattage or the word dimmable. It tells you whose LED components the fixture uses, and it does not by itself tell you how the light performs. Performance claims, such as efficacy and longevity, belong on the maker's page and in the manual for the model.

Samsung LM301 series as a listing word

LM301B and LM301H are Samsung's best-known horticultural diode model names. When a title carries one of them, the fixture uses Samsung diodes. For a shopper, the useful step is to read the maker's page for that light next to the title, because the title rarely states a PPFD or efficiency number. This article compares lights on stated details, so the chip name is read as a title word, not as a promise of plant results.

Osram, Bridgelux, Cree and Epistar as listing words

Osram, Bridgelux, Cree and Epistar appear on listings the same way. Each name identifies a diode maker, and some titles place the name in the first words while others put it in a bullet point. When you compare two listings, match the chip name with the other stated details from each title: the light type, the wattage of one light, the coverage area in square feet, and whether the light is dimmable and has a timer. The chip name alone does not decide which light fits a 2x4 tent or a shelf of houseplants. For a 2x4 tent, see the quantum board guides; for a shelf, see the LED strip guide; for a 4x4 tent, see the 4x4 tent guide.

Efficacy, longevity and spectrum consistency as terms

The three properties shoppers usually ask about after seeing a chip name are efficacy, longevity and spectrum consistency. Efficacy is a maker term for how much light output a fixture provides for each watt it draws, often given in a unit such as micromoles per joule. Longevity is a maker term for how long a fixture keeps a given share of its initial light output, often written as L70 or L90 hours. Spectrum consistency describes how steadily the wavelength output holds over time.

All three figures belong on the maker's page and manual for the model. A listing title does not state them. One external check is the DesignLights Consortium, which maintains a Qualified Products List for horticultural lighting and verifies performance and efficiency claims against published standards. The list is a place to look after you have chosen a candidate from the guides.

  • Read efficacy on the maker's page, usually in micromoles per joule.
  • Read longevity as L70 or L90 hours on the maker's page or manual.
  • Read spectrum consistency from the maker's spectrum chart or manual.

Chip maker versus light maker

The chip name is not the light's brand. The light maker designs the fixture, chooses the driver, and states the coverage, dimming and timer. A title can carry both names, for example a Vivosun light with Samsung diodes. Vivosun's official page is one place to read a maker's stated details for a model. When comparing, read the maker's page and manual alongside the listing title, and keep the job in mind: a windowsill of herbs, a seed starting rack, a single potted plant on a desk, or a tent of a named size. The Samsung LED grow light guide collects models that state Samsung diodes in their titles.

What a chip name cannot tell you

A chip name does not state plant results, intensity, lifespan, or spectrum measurements. It is a component statement. The deciding details for a grower are the light type, the wattage of one light, the coverage area in square feet, and whether the light is dimmable and has a timer. Those come from the listing title and the maker's page. For help with the job, the panel picks and the general guide sort the models on stated details.

Comparing two listings with different chip names

When two titles carry different chip names, the comparison should not stop at the names. Read each listing's stated wattage, coverage, dimmable and timer words, then go to each maker's page for efficacy and longevity. The light that matches your job on those details is the one to pick, whatever the chip brand. Use the main grow light guide to see how models are compared on stated details.

Chip name as a stated detail
ReadingWhat it doesWhat it does not do
Samsung LM301B or LM301H on a titleNames the diode maker and modelState efficacy or longevity figures
Osram, Bridgelux, Cree or Epistar on a titleNames the diode makerState a PPFD number
Chip name with no maker page nearbyShows the component familyPromise plant results

What to pick for your job

If youPickBuying guide
You set up a 2x4 tent and want Samsung diodesA quantum board with stated 2x4 coverageBest Samsung LED Grow Lights in 2026: 8 Picks by Stated Details
You light a shelf of houseplantsA strip light matched to shelf lengthBest LED Grow Light Strips in 2026: 14 Picks by Stated Details
You need a compact light for a deskA panel light with a built-in timerBest LED Grow Light Panels in 2026: 4 Picks by Stated Details
You shop a budget tier for a 2x2 tentA dimmable light from the budget tierBest LED Grow Lights Under $100 in 2026: 15 Picks by Stated Details
You prefer a clip-on for one potted plantA clip-on with a dimmerBest Clip On Grow Lights in 2026: 4 Picks by Stated Details
You fill a 4x4 tentA bar or quantum board light of the maker's stated coverageBest LED Grow Lights for 4x4 Tents in 2026: 7 Picks

Questions

What does Samsung LM301B mean on a grow light listing?

It names the diode maker (Samsung) and the diode model (LM301B). It is a component statement. The performance numbers are on the maker's page for the light.

Are Samsung diodes better than Osram or Bridgelux?

Better is a comparison of stated efficacy, longevity and spectrum consistency, and those figures belong on the maker's page and manual. The chip name alone is a component detail. Compare the full set of stated details across listings using the main grow light guide.

Where do I find efficacy and longevity numbers?

On the maker's page and in the manual for the model. The DesignLights Consortium also maintains a Qualified Products List for horticultural lighting that verifies performance and efficiency claims against published standards.

Does a Samsung diode title tell me the light's intensity?

No. Intensity figures such as PPFD are stated on the maker's page or in a photon map, not in a listing title. A title names the diode maker, watts, coverage, dimmable and timer.

Can I compare two listings by the chip name alone?

No. Match the chip name with the other stated details from each title, then read each maker's page for the full details. The job (herb shelf, seed rack, tent size) decides which light type suits you.

What does L70 mean as a listing term?

L70 is a maker term for how long a fixture keeps a given share of its initial light output; the hours are stated on the maker's page. A title may not state it.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides