Samsung vs Epistar Diodes: Listing Terms Compared
Short answer: Samsung and Epistar are LED chip makers whose names appear in grow light titles. The name tells you which chips a light uses; it does not state lifespan or efficiency. Those numbers, when a maker publishes them, appear on the maker's product page and in the manual. Compare lights on stated details: watts of one light, coverage, dimmer, timer, chip maker. Read the maker's page for performance claims. This site compares listings on stated details.
What a diode name means on a listing
Plants need light to grow, and a grow light is the tool that supplies it indoors. A grow light title that names Samsung or Epistar is naming the maker of the LED chips inside the fixture. The chip maker is one of the first details a title states, right after the light type and the wattage, and it tells you which component family the light uses.
The chip name is not a performance claim. It does not state brightness, efficiency, lifespan or reliability. When a maker publishes those numbers, they appear on the maker's product page and in the manual that ships with the light, not in the listing title.
A title may also carry seller phrases such as an equivalent wattage or a comparison to an older light type; those are marketing words. The draw of one light in watts is the factual detail to compare. The listings in this catalogue state the light type, the wattage of one light, the coverage area, whether the light is dimmable, whether it has a timer, and the chip maker when it is named.
Samsung as a listing word
Samsung appears in grow light titles as the chip maker, usually with a chip family code such as LM301B or LM301H. The code names the generation of the chip family, the same way a model code on any product names a version. The title states the maker and the family; it does not state how the chip behaves.
A title that says Samsung LM301H states the chip maker and the chip family. It does not state a lumen figure, an efficiency figure or a lifespan figure. Those numbers, if the maker publishes them, are on the maker's page and in the manual.
Samsung chips appear across price tiers, in quantum boards, bar lights and panels. The chip name alone does not tell you the driver, the coverage or the controls; read those on the listing and in the maker's spec sheet.
Epistar as a listing word
Epistar is another LED chip maker whose name appears in grow light titles, most often in budget-tier panels, bars and strips. The title states it the same way it states Samsung: as the chip maker, sometimes with a chip family code.
An Epistar title states the chip maker; it does not state how the chip performs. Lifespan and efficiency claims, when a maker makes them, are on the maker's spec sheet and in the manual.
The presence of one chip maker or the other is a component detail. It is not a promise of a longer life, a higher output or a particular yield. Read the stated wattage and coverage before you compare chip names.
Reliability and lifespan as maker-stated terms
On a maker's product page you may read terms such as lifespan hours, L70 or efficiency. These are maker-stated terms: the maker's own description of how long the light is expected to last and how much light it produces for the power it draws. Growers need products with reliable performance claims, and third-party lighting programs verify those claims separately from the listing.
L70 is a maker term. It names the point at which a light's output is expected to drop to 70 percent of its initial value. The number of hours is stated by the maker on its product page; the listing title does not state it.
Efficiency on a maker page is the maker's stated ratio of light output to power draw. The listing does not state it; the maker's page and the manual state it.
Whether a light is reliable is not a figure you can read from a title. It is a judgement you make after reading the maker's stated specs, the warranty text and the return policy. The warranty text states what the maker will cover and for how long; it is a stated detail you can compare across models.
Where each detail is stated
Use this mapping when you read a listing. The title gives you the component and control details; the maker's page and the manual give you the performance numbers. Follow the manual for mounting and use, and let local electrical rules come first.
| Detail | In the listing | On the maker's page |
|---|---|---|
| Chip maker (Samsung, Epistar) | The title states the name | The maker's page confirms the chip family code |
| Watts of one light | The title states the draw | The maker's page repeats the draw |
| Coverage area | The title states square feet | The maker's page shows the footprint |
| Dimmer and timer | The title states them or leaves them out | The maker's page describes how they work |
| Lifespan hours and L70 | Not in the title | The maker's spec sheet and manual |
| Efficiency | Not in the title | The maker's spec sheet and manual |
How to compare two listings with different chip names
When two listings name different chip makers, compare what both titles state: the wattage of one light, the coverage area, the dimmer and timer, the light type. Those are the details you can set side by side directly. The panel guides and bar guides on this site are built the same way, compared on stated details.
Then open the maker's page for each model and read the stated performance numbers. The maker's page is where a chip maker name becomes useful: it shows which chips, which driver and which numbers the maker publishes.
The manual is the third place to read. It describes mounting, the controls and the stated specifications for that model. When a detail matters for installation, the manual takes priority.
What to pick for your job
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You light a shelf of houseplants | A panel or strip with a stated coverage for the shelf | Best LED Grow Light Panels in 2026: 4 Picks by Stated Details |
| You start seedlings on a rack | Linkable strips with a stated coverage | Best LED Grow Light Strips in 2026: 14 Picks by Stated Details |
| You light a 2x2 or 2x4 tent | A quantum board with a stated tent size | Best Quantum Board Grow Lights in 2026: 5 Picks by Stated Details |
| You prefer a title that names Samsung chips | A model from the Samsung guide | Best Samsung LED Grow Lights in 2026: 8 Picks by Stated Details |
| You shop the budget tier | A bar or panel whose title states wattage and coverage | Best LED Grow Lights Under $100 in 2026: 15 Picks by Stated Details |
Questions
Is Samsung more reliable than Epistar?
The listing does not state reliability. Both names are chip makers; the title states which chips a light uses. Lifespan numbers, when a maker publishes them, appear on the maker's page and in the manual. Compare lights on stated details: wattage, coverage, dimmer and timer.
What does LM301H in a title mean?
LM301H is Samsung's chip family code. It names the chip family and its generation. It does not state efficiency or lifespan; those numbers are on the maker's page and in the manual.
Where do I find lifespan hours?
On the maker's product page and in the manual that ships with the light. The listing title does not state lifespan hours. The maker's page is also where you read the L70 term if the model uses it.
Should I avoid a light that names Epistar?
No. The chip name is one detail among several. Read the wattage, coverage and controls on the listing, then read the maker's stated specs on the maker's page before deciding. A chip name alone is not a buying decision.
Does a Samsung chip promise a higher yield?
No. No chip name in a title promises yield. Yield depends on the whole setup: the light, the space, the plant variety and the growing conditions. The listing states only component and control details.
What numbers does a listing actually state?
A listing states the light type, the wattage of one light, the coverage area, dimmable and timer details, the chip maker when named, and the brand. Performance numbers such as efficiency and lifespan are read on the maker's page and in the manual.
Recent updates
- : First published.