BestLEDGrowLights

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

High vs Standard Power Factor on Grow Light Listings

Short answer: Power factor is a listing term that describes how a grow light draws power from the wall outlet. A high power factor means the light is designed so its real power draw is close to its apparent power draw. A standard power factor is a lower value. The actual power factor, like the stated watts, is read on the listing and the maker's page. The stated watts remains the first number to compare between lights.

What power factor means on a grow light listing

Power factor is a term a maker may state on a grow light listing, often as "high power factor" or as a numeric value. It describes the relationship between two kinds of power: the real power a light uses to operate, and the apparent power it draws from the wall outlet.

In plain words, a light with a high power factor is designed so the current it draws from the outlet is closely aligned with the actual power it consumes. A light with a standard power factor draws a somewhat larger current for the same real power. The power factor value a maker states is read on the listing and on the maker's page for the model.

The DesignLights Consortium page on horticultural lighting describes how energy performance is evaluated for horticultural lighting products. That resource explains the role of stated specifications in comparing products. The best LED grow lights guide compares lights on the stated details in each listing.

High power factor vs standard power factor as listing words

"High power factor" on a listing is a design claim by the maker. It means the light's driver is built to keep the real power draw close to the apparent power draw. A listing that does not use these words may still state a power factor value in its specification section. Quantum board grow lights often state this value.

When a listing does not state a power factor, that detail may appear on the maker's page or in the manual for the model. It is a value to look for, not a statement about the light's design either way. The same rule applies to other listing terms, such as spectrum or coverage area: a missing value is a detail to find, not a claim.

  • High power factor: the listing states a design where real and apparent power are close.
  • Standard power factor: the listing states a lower value or no value at all.
  • Missing power factor: check the maker's page and the manual.

What power factor tells you about real power draw

The stated watts on a listing is the real power a light draws. Power factor is a separate term that describes how the light's current draw compares to that real power. A higher power factor means the current drawn from the wall is closer to the real power used. This is why a listing that states both watts and power factor gives a fuller picture of a light's power draw than a listing that states watts alone.

For a grower choosing a light for a seed starting shelf or a 4x4 tent, the stated watts is the number to compare between listings. The power factor, when stated, is a design detail that describes how the driver draws that power. Both values are read on the listing and the maker's page. The wattage vs actual light output article explains how the stated watts is read.

How to read a grow light spec sheet explains where these values appear in a listing's specification section.

What power factor cannot tell you

Power factor is not a measure of how much usable light a plant receives. It says nothing about PAR, PPFD, or DLI. It is not an efficacy value and does not tell you how a light compares to another model in light output per watt. A listing can state a high power factor and still leave the light's spectrum and coverage unstated.

Those details are read separately on the listing and the maker's page. The PPFD vs PAR vs lux article explains what those light terms mean and where to read them.

Power factor and your grower's job

For a small setup, such as a windowsill of herbs or a desk plant, the stated watts and the light's coverage area matter more than the power factor. A clip-on light that states its watts is enough to compare. The same is true for a shelf of houseplants, where the width of the light and the stated watts are the first details to check.

For a larger tent setup, the driver design becomes a bigger part of the listing. A high power factor is one of several driver details, alongside dimming range and the driver maker's name. The evaluate driver quality article lists the driver details to read on a listing.

Reading power factor on a listing and maker page

Look for the power factor in the specification section of a listing, often listed beside the wattage and the LED chip name. The maker's page for the model states the same value in its technical specifications. Measuring real power usage is a separate question from reading the listed power factor, and the two are not the same.

The maker's manual and local electrical rules come first when you connect or mount any grow light.

What to pick for your job

If youPickBuying guide
You light a seed starting shelfA pack of linkable strips; compare stated watts and any power factor on the listingBest LED Grow Light Strips in 2026: 14 Picks by Stated Details
You light a 2x2 tentA quantum board with a stated power factorBest Quantum Board Grow Lights in 2026: 5 Picks by Stated Details
You light a 4x4 tentA bar light or panel; read the stated watts before comparingBest LED Grow Lights for 4x4 Tents in 2026: 7 Picks
You light houseplants on a deskA clip-on light that states its power drawBest Clip On Grow Lights in 2026: 4 Picks by Stated Details
You shop on a budgetA dimmable light in a guided budget tierBest LED Grow Lights Under $100 in 2026: 15 Picks by Stated Details
You compare two listings for the same tent sizeCompare stated watts first, then any power factor valuesBest LED Grow Lights (2026): LED Grow Light Reviews

Questions

What is power factor on a grow light listing?

Power factor is a value a maker states to describe how the light draws power from the wall. A high power factor means the real power draw is close to the apparent power draw. The specific value is on the listing and the maker's page. It is read alongside the stated watts, not instead of it.

Does a high power factor grow light use less electricity?

The electricity a light uses is measured by its real power, which the listing states in watts. Power factor describes the relationship between real and apparent power. Both values are on the listing; neither is a promise of the light output a plant receives.

Where do I read the power factor for a grow light?

Read it in the specification section of the listing and on the maker's page for the model. If the listing omits it, the maker's manual or page may state it. A listing that does not state a power factor is simply missing that detail.

Do I need a high power factor light for a small shelf of plants?

For a small setup, the stated watts and the light's coverage area are the first details to compare. Power factor is a design detail that is read on the listing alongside those. A clip-on light or a bulb that states its watts is enough for a shelf of houseplants. The best grow light bulbs guide lists bulbs that state their power draw.

What does power factor not tell me?

Power factor does not tell you how much usable light a plant receives. It is not a PAR, PPFD, or DLI value and is not an efficacy value. Those are separate listing terms that are read on the listing and the maker's page.

Is power factor the same as efficiency?

No. Efficiency for a grow light is usually stated as an efficacy value in micromoles per joule, which describes light output per unit of electricity. Power factor describes how the light draws power from the wall. The two terms are read separately on a listing.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides