BestLEDGrowLights

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Greenhouse vs Indoor Tent: Choosing the Right Grow Light

Short answer: A greenhouse and a grow tent are two different jobs on the same listing page. In a greenhouse, natural sunlight does part of the work and the light is supplemental, so coverage, shape and mounting words matter. In a tent, the reflective walls block natural light and the fixture is the only source, so the stated footprint must match the tent size named in the title. Read the actual watts of one light, the light type, the coverage area in square feet, and the controls. The maker's manual states the light levels.

Two grow jobs, one listing page

The same grow light listing serves two different jobs. In a greenhouse, sunlight does part of the work and the fixture fills the gaps. In an enclosed tent, the reflective walls keep light inside but block natural light, so the fixture is the only source. The physical light can be identical; the job reads differently on the listing.

When a title says greenhouse or tent, those are job words, not light properties. A greenhouse grower reads coverage, shape and mounting. A tent grower reads the footprint, the tent size names in the title, and the controls.

The UMN Extension page explains that supplemental lighting can make up for a lack of natural sunlight, and that the plant's light needs should match the environment. That principle guides the greenhouse job. The DesignLights page describes controlled environment agriculture, the category a tent belongs to.

Greenhouse lighting: supplemental by definition

In a greenhouse, natural light varies by season, window direction and roof overhang. A grow light listing does not state those conditions. It states the coverage area in square feet, the light type and the mounting words. Those are the details to read first.

A greenhouse light does not need to cover the whole room. It covers a bench, a shelf or a row of potted plants. The listing names the coverage; the maker's manual says where to place the light. The learn article on reading coverage area explains the term as a listing word.

The UMN page groups plants by low, medium and high light environments. A listing does not state those groups. The grower matches the plant to the space and uses the coverage words to choose a fixture.

The maker's manual and local electrical rules come first when placing a light near greenhouse moisture.

Tent lighting: the only light source

In a tent, the fixture is the only light source, so the listed footprint must match the tent floor size named in the title. Tent names such as 2x2, 2x4 and 4x4 are names for the floor footprint, not measurements of the light.

Many listings state which tent sizes a fixture fits, in the title or the bullet list. Read that phrase as a matching word: the light's stated coverage should fill the tent floor. For a larger tent, one light or two is a shopping question.

The guide on 4x4 tents compares fixtures on stated details; the maker's page states the coverage for each model. The learn article on single light versus multiple lights covers the one-or-two question.

The DesignLights page notes that horticultural LED lights deliver the right spectrum, intensity and duration for different crops. Those are the terms the maker states in the manual, not figures this article repeats.

Light type as a shape word

The first word of a title is usually the light type: quantum board, bar, panel, strip, clip-on or bulb. Read it as a shape word. A quantum board is a flat square board, a bar is a long rectangle, a panel is a flat board of diodes, a strip is a narrow tube-like bar.

For a tent job, the shape should match the floor shape named in the title. A square board suits a square tent; a long bar suits a rectangular tent. For a greenhouse job, the shape should match the bench or shelf you have. The learn article on quantum boards versus light bars and the one on bar versus panel lights explain the differences.

The listing states the type; the maker's manual states the mounting. A bar light guide and a panel light guide compare fixtures on stated details.

Controls as listing words for both jobs

Dimmable and timer are control words, not output words. A dimmable fixture lets the grower turn the output down. A built-in timer lets the light turn on and off automatically. The listing states which one is included, and the cycles such as 4/8/12H or 3/9/12H.

On a greenhouse, a timer matters because natural light changes by season. On a tent, a timer matters because the fixture is the only source and the grower controls the light cycle. The learn article on built-in timers explains the feature as a listing term.

Some listings name a dimmer knob, a remote or an app. Those are interface words. The maker's manual explains how to use them; the maker's page explains what the controls do. The guide on dimmable lights compares fixtures that state the dimmer.

Reading watts on both jobs

Watts as a listing term is the actual draw of one light. A pack of 2 or 4 strips lists the per-light watts, sometimes as a split figure such as 2 x 9W. Read the per-light number, not the pack total.

Equivalent wattage is a seller's phrase, not a measured property of the light. It compares the light to an older technology. This site reads the actual draw only, as the title states it.

Watts alone cannot tell the grower how much light reaches a plant. Coverage, light type and controls are stated on the listing; the maker's manual states the light levels. The learn article on wattage versus actual light output explains the difference.

What to pick for your job

If youPickBuying guide
You light a greenhouse bench of vegetablesA bar or strip light that matches the bench lengthBest LED Grow Light Bars in 2026: 9 Picks by Stated Details
You light a 2x2 or 3x3 tentA quantum board or panel listed for that footprintBest Quantum Board Grow Lights in 2026: 5 Picks by Stated Details
You light a 4x4 tentA panel or bar fixture listed for 4x4 tentsBest LED Grow Lights for 4x4 Tents in 2026: 7 Picks
You light a shelf of houseplants in a greenhouseA pack of linkable stripsBest LED Grow Light Strips in 2026: 14 Picks by Stated Details
You light a tent and want a dimmer and timerA fixture that states both controlsBest Dimmable LED Grow Lights in 2026: 15 Picks
You add a second light to a tentA light of the same type with the stated coverageBest 200W LED Grow Lights in 2026: 10 Picks by Stated Details

Questions

Is a greenhouse grow light different from a tent grow light?

The physical light can be the same; the job differs. In a greenhouse the light is supplemental to sunlight, so coverage and mounting words matter. In a tent the light is the only source, so the stated footprint must match the tent size in the title. The maker's manual states placement and light levels.

What does supplemental mean on a grow light listing?

It means the fixture adds light to natural sunlight rather than replacing it. The listing states the coverage area in square feet; the maker's manual says where to place the light. The UMN Extension page describes supplemental lighting as a way to make up for a lack of natural sunlight.

What are 2x2 and 4x4 in a listing title?

They are tent size names, not light measurements. They name the floor footprint the fixture is listed to fill. Read the stated coverage area in square feet next to the tent name.

Can a bar light work in a greenhouse?

Bars and strips suit benches and shelves because of their long shape. The listing states the light type and coverage. The maker's manual states the mounting. The bar light guide compares fixtures on stated details.

Does a tent light need a timer?

A built-in timer is a listing feature, not a requirement. In a tent the fixture is the only light source, so a timer helps automate the cycle. The listing states the cycles such as 4/8/12H or 3/9/12H.

What if a listing names two light types?

Some titles pair words such as quantum board and panel, or bar and strip. Read the first word as the primary type. The maker's page clarifies the model.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides