BestLEDGrowLights

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Mean Well vs Generic Drivers: Worth the Premium?

Short answer: A grow light driver takes power from the wall and delivers it to the LEDs. A listing that names a driver maker such as Mean Well states one detail; a listing that does not leaves the driver maker unstated. This site compares stated details, so the difference is in the title words, not in a measured claim. Durability, efficiency and warranty are not in the catalogue; read them on the listing, in the maker's manual and on the maker's page. The tier of the light, entry-level or premium, is what the reader chooses for the job.

What a driver is on a listing

A driver is the part of an LED grow light that takes power from the wall and delivers it to the LEDs in the form the diodes need. On a listing, the driver is not a separate item; it is a component inside the light. When a title names a driver maker such as Mean Well, that is a stated detail. When a title does not name one, the driver maker is not stated by the seller.

Artificial light is how many homes make up for a lack of natural sunlight, as the University of Minnesota Extension explains. When a light is installed or moved, the maker's manual and local electrical rules come first. Constant-current and constant-voltage drivers are two driver types a reader sees described on listings.

Mean Well as a listing word

Mean Well is a power supply company whose name appears on the titles of many grow lights, usually next to the LED chip maker. Seeing the name on a title tells the reader that the maker chose to state it. Lights in the premium tier of the catalogue are the ones that tend to name the driver; entry-level lights often leave it out.

What the name cannot say: the catalogue has no efficiency, durability or noise data for the driver. A reader who wants those figures reads the model's manual and the maker's page. The article on what a Mean Well driver is goes into the naming and the role in a light.

Generic drivers on a listing

A generic driver is a driver whose maker is not named on the listing. The title may simply say “driver included” or say nothing at all. For a reader comparing two lights, the difference is in the words: one title names a maker, the other leaves the maker unstated.

This site compares stated details only. A named driver is a stated detail; an unnamed one falls under “not stated by the seller”. That does not say the unnamed driver is worse, because the catalogue has no data on either driver. Read the maker's manual and page for the model before deciding. The guide on evaluating driver quality lists the terms a reader can compare from stated details.

Durability, efficiency and warranty as reading tasks

The three words in a driver comparison are durability, efficiency and warranty. On a listing, none of them is a stated number. Durability and efficiency figures, when the maker publishes them, appear on the maker's page and in the manual. Warranty text, when the seller states it, appears on the listing and in the maker's warranty policy.

The catalogue does not measure durability or efficiency, so the reader reads those terms on the maker's page. The warranty article explains what warranty text usually covers and how to check it. The driver-quality article explains which driver terms a reader can compare from stated details.

Terms a reader can compare from stated details: the driver maker name when the title states it; the watts of one light; the coverage area in square feet; whether the light is dimmable; whether it has a timer.

  • The driver maker name when the title states it
  • The watts of one light
  • The coverage area in square feet
  • Whether the light is dimmable
  • Whether it has a timer

What the premium buys in listing terms

A light whose title names the driver maker usually sits in a higher tier of the catalogue than one that does not. The premium shows up in the stated details, not in a measured claim: the chip maker is named, the driver maker is named, the light is dimmable and carries a coverage area. An entry-level light states fewer of those details.

The reader's job decides the tier. A shelf of houseplants or a desk plant may suit an entry-level or mid-tier light that states watts and coverage. A 4x4 tent usually gets a premium light that names the driver maker. The general grow light guide and the quantum board guide sort lights by tier and by job.

Programs such as the DesignLights Consortium maintain qualified product lists for horticultural lighting, which a reader can consult for the energy efficiency of a listed light. Maker pages such as Vivosun's state their support and return terms, and general-purpose LED pages such as GE Lighting's describe LED technology broadly. For a driver, the maker's manual and page are the authority, and the catalogue reads titled details only.

The driver question for each job

For every job, the driver question is the same: does the title name the driver maker or not, and is that detail on the list of stated details the reader cares about? A windowsill of herbs, a rack of seedlings, a shelf of houseplants and a 4x4 tent all use lights, but the tier each job needs is different.

The dimmable lights guide is a good example of a tier where the driver is part of the stated detail, because dimming is a driver function. The choose table below points the reader to the guide that sorts lights for the reader's job.

What to pick for your job

If youPickBuying guide
You light a shelf of houseplantsAn entry-level or mid-tier light that states watts and coverage; the driver maker may not be namedBest LED Grow Light Strips in 2026: 14 Picks by Stated Details
You light a 2x4 tentA mid-tier light; compare whether the title names the driver makerBest LED Grow Light Bars in 2026: 9 Picks by Stated Details
You light a 4x4 tentA premium light whose title names the chip maker and driver makerBest Quantum Board Grow Lights in 2026: 5 Picks by Stated Details
You want dimming controlA dimmable light; dimming is a driver function stated on the listingBest Dimmable LED Grow Lights in 2026: 15 Picks
You light a desk or windowsillA clip-on or bulb light; driver names rarely appear on these listingsBest Clip On Grow Lights in 2026: 4 Picks by Stated Details

Questions

Is a Mean Well driver better than a generic one?

This site compares stated details, not measured performance. A title that names Mean Well states one detail; a title that does not leaves it unstated. Read the maker's manual and page for efficiency, durability and warranty before comparing. The choice between a named and an unnamed driver is a tier choice, not a measured one.

What does a generic driver mean on a listing?

It means the seller did not state the driver maker on the title. The catalogue records that as not stated by the seller, which is a reading note, not a quality claim. For two lights that otherwise state the same watts and coverage, this is the only difference in the title.

Does naming a driver place a light in a higher tier?

Yes. The catalogue sorts lights into entry-level and premium tiers by stated details, and a named driver is a detail that appears more often on premium-tier lights. Entry-level lights tend to leave the driver maker unstated.

Where are efficiency figures for the driver stated?

Efficiency figures are not in the catalogue. The maker's page and the manual for the model are the places to read them. The listing carries the driver maker name when it is stated, but no efficiency number.

What does warranty text on a listing cover?

Warranty text states the terms a seller or maker offers. The warranty article explains what to look for. The site cannot state warranty terms for a model; the listing and the maker's policy are the sources.

Can a reader compare two lights when one names the driver and the other does not?

Yes, on stated details. The named driver is one stated detail, and the unnamed one is not stated. All other stated details, such as watts, coverage, dimmer and timer, stay comparable. The reader compares what both titles state and reads the maker's page for the rest.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides