BestLEDGrowLights

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

umol/s per Watt: What It Means for You

Short answer: umol/s per watt is the unit a grow light maker uses to describe efficiency: the photons the light emits per second (umol/s) divided by the watts it draws. A higher value means more light for each watt. The figure appears on the maker's product page and manual, not always in the listing title. This article explains the term, and the site's guides compare fixtures on stated details: light type, watts, coverage, chips, dimmer and timer.

What umol/s per watt means on a grow light listing

umol/s per watt joins two measurements. The first, umol/s, is the number of photons in micromoles that the light sends out every second. The second is the electricity the fixture draws, in watts. Dividing the first by the second gives a value in photons per second per watt, which is why some listings write the same value as umol/J, micromoles per joule.

That value is a property of the light source, not of the plants. It tells you how much light a fixture produces for each watt of electricity it uses, so a higher number means the fixture gets more light out of the same wattage. When two fixtures draw similar watts, the one with the higher stated value is the more efficient of the two. Efficiency is a useful comparison only when the rest of the fixture is suited to the job; the guides on this site compare stated details such as light type, watts, coverage, chips, dimmer and timer.

Where to read the value on a listing

Grow light listings often keep umol/s per watt out of the title and out of the bullet list. The maker usually publishes it on the product page, in the specification sheet, or in the printed manual. Some makers also publish a PAR map that shows the same photon measurement spread over a growing area. The article on reading a PAR map explains that document.

This site's catalogue reads the stated details that appear in the listing: light type, wattage, coverage area, LED chip maker, dimming and timer. The umol/s per watt value is not part of that catalogue. To compare the metric, open the maker's page for each model you are considering.

A neutral second place to look exists: the DesignLights Consortium maintains a qualified products list for horticultural lighting and verifies efficiency and performance claims against its technical requirements. That list sits next to the maker's own page, not instead of it.

What a high value does not prove

A high umol/s per watt value describes the light source; it does not describe the light that arrives at the plant. Photons spread out over distance, so the amount at the leaf depends on how the fixture is mounted, how high it hangs, and how wide its beam is. Makers state that separately in a PAR map or in the manual.

The metric also says nothing about coverage, dimming, timers, or the LED chip maker named in the listing. A fixture can carry a strong efficiency claim and still be the wrong shape for a windowsill or a rack. For a desk plant or a shelf of houseplants, the shape of the light and the way it mounts matter more than the efficiency number alone, so read the mounting words on the listing.

When a topic touches mounting, the maker's manual and local electrical rules come first.

How to compare two fixtures with the metric

Build a shortlist that fits your grower's job: a seed starting shelf, a 2x2 or 4x4 tent, a desk plant, a windowsill of herbs. Read the wattage and the coverage area from each listing, then open the maker's page for each model and find the stated umol/s per watt value. The article on wattage versus actual light output explains why the draw of one light matters.

Write the values next to each other. For fixtures that draw similar watts, the higher value is the more efficient light source. The same value on two different sizes of fixture is not a direct comparison; keep the wattage class similar. Pair the comparison with the dimmer range, the timer and the mounting words from the listing, because the job decides the winner, not the efficiency number alone.

If a maker does not state the value, that is not a defect; the catalogue does not read it either. You can ask the maker, or compare on wattage and coverage. The guides on this site compare fixtures on stated details only.

Efficiency across budget tiers

Efficiency does not follow a single price pattern. A budget strip pack and a premium quantum board both carry an efficiency value on the maker's page, and the value depends on the LED chip, the driver, and the layout of the diodes. The listing names the chip maker and the light type; those words are what this site compares.

The budget guides group fixtures by tier, so you can compare stated details within the tier that fits your job. The best LED grow lights guide is the starting point; the dimmable guide narrows the field when a dimmer matters.

What to pick for your job

If youPickBuying guide
You light a seed starting shelfA pack of linkable stripsBest LED Grow Light Strips in 2026: 14 Picks by Stated Details
You light a shelf of houseplantsA clip-on or a small panelBest Clip On Grow Lights in 2026: 4 Picks by Stated Details
You light a 2x2 or 3x3 tentA quantum boardBest Quantum Board Grow Lights in 2026: 5 Picks by Stated Details
You light a 4x4 tentA bar light or a 200W-and-up fixtureBest LED Grow Lights for 4x4 Tents in 2026: 7 Picks
You want a dimmer on the fixtureA pick from the dimmable guideBest Dimmable LED Grow Lights in 2026: 15 Picks
You shop in a budget tierA pick from the budget guideBest LED Grow Lights Under $100 in 2026: 15 Picks by Stated Details

Questions

What does umol/s per watt measure?

It measures how many photons a light produces per second for each watt of electricity it draws. A higher value means the light source is more efficient at converting electricity into light. It is a property of the fixture, not of the plants.

Where is umol/s per watt stated on a listing?

Makers usually publish it on the product page, in the specification sheet, or in the manual. It is often absent from the listing title and bullet list. This site's catalogue does not read it; the maker's page is the place to check.

Is a higher value always a better buy?

No. The value describes the light source, not the light at the plant. Mounting height, coverage area, dimming and timer all affect how useful the fixture is in a specific job, so read the whole specification sheet.

How is umol/s per watt different from PPFD?

umol/s per watt is about what the light source emits for each watt. PPFD is about the photons that arrive at a surface area, in micromoles per square meter per second. They are different measurements and a maker states both separately.

What if the maker does not state the value?

Compare the stated wattage and coverage area instead, ask the maker, and read the manual. The guides on this site compare fixtures on stated details only.

Does umol/s per watt change with the dimmer setting?

The stated value describes the fixture at its full setting. A dimmer lowers the watts drawn and the photons emitted together, so the stated value is the maker's single reference point; the manual explains the dimming behavior.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides